Another Adventure in My Happy Place

Noah Tesfaye
3 min readDec 4, 2022

Am I writing in a café in my favorite city in the world this week? Why, yes.

I am trying to figure out how to actually sustainably balance and sort out my responsibilities in life, juggling all these different parts, while trying to get through life. But I do think that at least in some capacity, I’m really trying to maximize the fact that I cannot keep taking my own life for granted day in and day out. 12 months ago, I was at home and really struggling to come to terms with my future. Today, I’m on a research trip, really invested in the work I’m developing and working through how I want to really finish writing out this thesis. My ability to just get around once again like normal, without much of a concern about my health being stressful, is relieving. It feels a little bit like I’m continuously getting closer to a better version of myself.

Whenever I get the chance to write at length about New York City, I always get a little giddy. It’s not just that I get the chance to really appreciate all the positive moments about writing from this city; it just gives me the general inspiration to really be the best version of myself. I don’t have the chance to fade into a similar level of oblivion or obscurity in my days on campus. I appreciate for once just being unknown and not running into anybody at all. I can just really sit in my own thoughts in a manner that…

--

--

Noah Tesfaye

Just someone trying to share my story and find who I am, one post at a time