There is No Justice

Noah Tesfaye
6 min readMay 10, 2020

Ahmaud Arbery was brutally murdered on February 23rd.

I’ve struggled to put into words the emotions I’ve been feeling about the last few days, and I didn’t want to speak much about it until now because I wanted to really think before I just shared how I felt.

I’ve spent this past week trying to understand all of my thoughts about what has happened following the release of the video. I remember hearing about the case briefly at the end of February and I was horrified but didn’t spend enough time advocating on the issue with midterms and COVID all coming at us. When I learn often about events like this, the first thing I usually do is just try to understand as much as I could and try to inform others about the issues that we as Black people face in America today. Racist attacks like these in our times are nothing new and have continued to happen since the inception of this nation. I am never, ever surprised that these modern lynchings happen, and I always feel the same horror every single time.

This past week, I was just scrolling through my Twitter feed and then I saw the video once. I never saw it after that and I refuse to see it again.

If I had to tell you what my worst nightmare is as a young Black man in America, what happened to Ahmaud is about as close to that nightmare as there is. While he…

--

--

Noah Tesfaye

Just someone trying to share my story and find who I am, one post at a time